Its 2016! -Beautiful People Link-up

Its 2016 and I’m back! (Maybe to as much as my calendar says I will be because Final and Diploma Exams and Life. :/ )

Did you miss me moriarty

So I already missed not putting up a book review because I didn’t actually have one written yet…so this will be replacing it….and I know its not Monday either. BUT OH WELL. Doesn’t matter. As long as I am here and posting. I’ve lately been extremely discourage with anything relating to my novel writing lately so this year I’m really just gonna focus on only 3 projects as opposed to messing around with all ideas at once. I’ve also been deciding what stories I even find worth keeping BUT in light of that I’m gonna be joining The Beautiful Books Link-Up talking about writing goals for the new year!

 

BeautifulPeopleBlogButton-PF2_zps5c587c9e-2

What were your writing achievements last year?

Oh my…well I had lots of achievements last year that didn’t happen. If I sat here and listed them all we would be here a while…

 
Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

My top priority project this year is going to be a new novel I started the other night. I’ve had the idea floating around my head for month now but I really just started to develop it a few days ago as a last attempt to see if I will be writing novels anymore. So I’m kinda taking it very slowly and carefully because I’m at a hard point in my life right now with writing and other things so I’m trying not to get frustrated with everything. I’m really sticking to it for a friend and I’m giving writing (novels not blogging) another try.

But with that said, let me tell you about my writing project. I do not have much at all but I have a tiny couple sentence description summarizing the characters, a collage of the character shipping cuteness, and a Pinterest board. So its a start.

Screaming Silence

Isn’t this collage to cute?! I’m in love with my characters of this story, ok? Ok now character summary thing:

The story of a quiet girl screaming in a void known as an ignorant, careless family and she just wants to be heard…and her screaming in silence is heard by the most unlikeliest of people; a tattooed, piercing covered pet store employee who is searching for someone to love the real him. The one hiding beneath the tattoos and piercings.

 

as I said, not much about the plot in that little description thing, but its a start! 😛 But this will be the project (out of three) that will probably have most of my attention this year.

 

 

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

  1. Work on my editing. I’m not the best at editing so I really need to improve on that this year as one of my novels I’m gonna be focusing on edits this year
  2. Describing characters. I cannot describe characters very well and its frustrating cause I have a perfect image in my head and I want to tell people what these characters look like but then it comes across as tell-y so…
  3. Work on showing things in my writing as opposed to telling them. Over this last year and a bit I’ve improved a little but It still needs some work.

I can’t really think of anything else so I’m only listing three…but oh well!

 
Are you participating in any writing challenges?

I don’t think so. Right now I don’t need any challenges I just need to learn to love writing again and re-learn that its ok for things not to be perfect and messy. I feel writing challenges will add a pressure I don’t need.

 
What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

Its this whole big dramatic deal that I don’t really feel like discussing….but lets just say finding a beta reader who will actually stick around and help me out is EXTREMELY difficult and frustrating.

 
Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?

None I can think of off the top of my head, but some may very well come up.

 
Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

ALL OF THEM! How I’m gonna do that, I don’t know yet…. Any suggestions.

 
Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

I’m taking a break from querying my novel this year. I really just need to read it over again and decide if its worth it to keep burying or not. As for editing, I have my novel Aimlessly Wandering that I’m finishing edits/re-writes of the ending on so I need to finish that. My plan of attack is to try and work on it without crying cause its a mess LOL probably consume lotsa chocolate and get fat too.

 
Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

I honestly have no idea…. Can you tell I have no idea what I’m doing anymore?

Superwoman

 
What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

The goal I hope to achieve is NOT quitting writing and getting at least 40k in my new novel. Other than that I got nothing. Keeping it small this year.

no writing plan

 

 

8 thoughts on “Its 2016! -Beautiful People Link-up

  1. Best of luck to you in your project, and especially to falling back in love with writing! I know it gets frustrating, but hopefully it will be rewarding for you as well ❤

    One of my favorite methods for getting to know my characters is to interview them and let them speak to me. It also tends to help me develop their voices. Good luck and have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hiya, just stumbled across your blog on Goodreads, which is nice. I agree with what people have said in these comments. When you’re getting rejected it feels like that phase is never going to end but it will if you persevere. I was in the same situation as you writing partner-wise and then I found one on a forum (not Goodreads) and he is just the best. Let me know if you’d like the link to the forum. I look forward to seeing what comes out of your pen in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its alright. I’m slowly getting back on my feet again with it! I joined a writers group (I’ll be writing a post about it) and it made me wonder why I even considered quitting so yeah. and thanks! Glad you think so 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

