A Post In Which I Discuss Books and the Stupid Time Hog that Is Grade 12

Hello Readers!

I apologize for the lack of posts lately. High School is a time hog and even more so because this is the last year of school for me. (Got a semester and a half people, then I am freeeee!)

But today I figured I would give you an update on how NaNoWriMo is going for me by joining in on Paperfury’s Beautiful Books Tag. This might get amusing for y’all cause everything is falling apart here…but lets do this anyways. XD

bb-redone

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

You guys, my novel isn’t even turning out. I’ve written 36 words (No. Not 36K just 36..) on the novel I’m supposed to be writing for this thing…I mean I’ve written 3k words on my WIP Aimlessly Wandering I had before…but that’s besides the point.

Sad crying sadness

Is there anyone skilled in writing Fantasy novels who can give me a hand here??? πŸ˜›

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Well….It kinda doesn’t exist…. >.> But let me share on of the first scenes I wrote in my other novel for NaNoWriMo instead cause why the heck not?

Chapter27

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

I used to be a hardcore plotter but now I’m kinda a plantser. Except for with my novel I’m supposed to be writing. It refused to cooperate with my usual ways ofΒ plotting my novel so I am completely going all pantser here…and we can all see how thats going…

tumblr_lq1nm3REMO1qg6vdx

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

Getting fat, of course. (a.k.a eating junk food and thinking for a brief second about how I should probably work out and work this all off…but that thought doesn’t last long.)

0edcb548e9c6b9cbc6daab1162e23d5c

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

I honestly don’t know. I often time just find a name or one comes to me and if it sticks, then I use it XD

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end β€” and why?

The Middle/End cause throughout the novel you just get to build to story and know the characters more….and also cause beginnings hate me so I love anything that isn’t the beginning of a novel.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Well I knew before writing the Fantasy novel I was supposed to be writing for NaNo (I’m writing Aimlessly Wandering instead πŸ˜› ) was Caspia. Once I actually get the story written you all will see why XD

But from Aimlessly Wandering, its definitely my character Claire. I love her.

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

For both projects, I honestly haven’t researched much…Soooooo.

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I can do either πŸ˜› Cause I LOVE word wars and going to the NaNoWriMo write ins and such. and I love to share my work. Usually right near the beginning its only with a couple people but still, I love to share my writing. Though there is always part of me that panics that someone will steal it…even if I’m just sending my novel to my best friend to read haha.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? WhatΒ time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

Honestly my writing habits just consist of trying to write and listening to my novel playlists…other than that everything just varies…Sometimes I eat/drink stuff, sometimes I write in my room, sometimes outside on the porch or in really weird spots in my house…the last time I was at my friends house, I climbed on to the roof with my laptop and wrote so…

So that’s my little quick post thing. I hope to be getting on top of some blogging here and re-arranging how often I post and when to fit with my school work and all that stuff…but I promise I’ll be getting on top of this soon, you guys.

Until Next Time,

Adriana Gabrielle

14 thoughts on “A Post In Which I Discuss Books and the Stupid Time Hog that Is Grade 12

  1. I write fantasy novels πŸ™‚ What type of fantasy are we talking (epic, modern, historical, etc)?
    School IS a huge time thief – but it is then replaced by a job/kids, or so I’ve heard. I can really only attest to the job one of those latter ones – my job is a huge time and energy thief.
    Still, it’s awesome that you are doing NaNo, and I hope you’ll get at least part of a manuscript out of it!
    My books tend to get out of control, and go way past 50,000 words, though I don’t seem to reach that point by the end of November anyhow. But words on the page are always valuable, so I plug away at it anyhow.
    Good luck!

    Like

    • Oh, thats cool! πŸ˜€ I’m writing a modern fantasy novel πŸ˜› and yes. School is a pain and tho its replaced by other things school is totally unmanageable compared to a job in my opinion. (If that makes any sense at all haha)

      Thanks! I’m hoping to get a little bit of it out of the way at least. Probably won’t reach 50k on either projects though. But its all about writing and having fun anyways.

      My YA Contemp novels usually are around 45-50k but from writing Fantasy and a Sci-Fi novel in the past those always go over 50k for me haha

      Like

  2. You climbed on the roof to write?!? THAT IS SO AWESOME. That seems like something out of a book. xD Aww, but I hope you wrangle this novel into doing what you want soon!! I absolutely fall apart if I don’t have a super detailed plot. I used to plot really intensely, then I drifted over to pansting. AND NOW I’M BACK TO PLOTTING. *collapses* So I guess one must just keep trying different things to see what works best right?!
    Also yay that you like sharing your work! πŸ˜€
    Thanks for joining in!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sure have! πŸ˜› Or read a book but that one specific time I mean I was writing haha πŸ˜›

      Thanks, Cait. I’m very much between both plotting and pantsing. Usually I have a fairly detailed outline but don’t force myself to stick to it. But then I make sure i bring it back to those key events I’ve outlined and its a technique I LOVE but this NaNo novel refused that and I’m heartbroken haha cause it means it will take a LOT more time to get this stupid thing done πŸ˜›

      I LOVE sharing my work. It’s lotsa fun…yet also terrifying πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

