Beautiful Books #1 || Introduce Your Novel

Hello Readers!

bb-redone

I figured that, since I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year that I should probably tell you what my novel is about. I mentioned it a while back and did a few Beautiful People Tag posts about my FMC buuut that was a while ago and some things have changed so that can all just be put aside and I’ll get around to redoing them later or something…

 

What Is Beautiful Books?

Beautiful Books is a writerly blog linkup event, focused on NaNoWriMo novels. This blog linkup is created by Cait @ Paperfury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. It was designed with NaNoWriMo in mind. NaNoWriMo is a writing event where you write a 50,000 word novel in a month. But you can do it for ANY novel if you’re not a NaNo participant.

Before I start here is a collage I made for my novel that I wanted to share because I can:

Blood In These Waters

 

Questions:

1. How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

So I have this part of my mind that thinks I’m a mermaid but the catch is that I am afraid of the water…(Like terrified) and I was thinking on it one day (cause why not?) and the thought came to me. ‘Why would a mermaid be terrified of the waters she grew up in?’ and honestly it branched off from there. I’ve had this idea floating around in my head for maybe 6 months now but I’d just been waiting for the right opportunity to write it and I write fantasy novels better when doing NaNoWriMo…Why I don’t know but I can prove it 😛

 

2. Why are you excited to write this novel?

Because who doesn’t wanna write a retelling of a dark story that has Mermaids in it? I mean I’ve based the mermaids/sirens off what they are like in most mythology (some vary depending where the myth originated from and such) and I just love mermaids so thats my reasoning. Nothing more than my love for mermaids and the original Little Mermaid story.

 

3. What is your novel about, and what is the title?

Well. As I said it’s a little mermaid retelling (or its supposed to turn out as such haha) called ‘Blood in these Waters,’ and I have a little synopsis but it hardly does it justice so I will explain it instead XD

So Blood In These Waters is a (dark) little mermaid retelling and basically in this novel everyone dies. Humans and Mer and slaughtering each other in a fight for the ocean waters and many Mer are taking revenge on the humans by becoming them and luring the humans to their death…..it’s gonna be interesting….and sad. And much character death will happen.

The story follows a mermaid/siren named Caspia and she, along with some of her sisters and friends, joined the humans on land, pretending to be one of them but no matter how hard she tries, she can’t make herself return to the ocean. Something scared her out of the water and leaves her stranded on land where it slowly kills her.

 

So as I said. Much death.

 
4. Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)

I’m still gathering my cast of characters as I’m finishing that area of plotting BUT I have 3 main characters so lets do this.

Caspia:Caspia

Bitter

 

Owen: Owen

Lost

 

Pearl: Pearl

Bubbly

 

5. Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write?

I’m already freakishly excited to write Caspia’s character. She is bitter and angry but I will also get to show (at some point) her soft side and much pain and feels will be inflicted upon me for falling in love with this character but oh well. That’s the fun of it, right?

 

 

6. What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?

Her goal is to get revenge on humans and do whatever she has to to stop them from invading the oceans and leave the Mer alone. What stands in the way is that her own fear has trapped her on land and there is not much she can do to stop the humans any longer while on land. (My own character hates me cause I’m human so this is quite interesting. Trust me. 😉 😛 )

 

7. Where is your novel set? 

I honestly don’t know yet….I’m thinking Hawaii but I feel thats very overdone so I don’t really know yet. I’m working on it….Anyone have any ideas/suggestions?

 

8. What is the most important relationship your character has?

The relationship with her sister Adria probably. Its the only relationship that means something to her.

 

9. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Well. She dies so…

 

10. What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?

WELL. That I haven’t really thought on yet…but I know readers will be feeling all the feels by the end. ( I hope)…I may have to revisit this question later. I’m still in the plotting stages of some/most of the stuff (cause I’m lazy and haven’t been working on it as much as I should be…) so yeah…

 

11. BONUS! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.

Oh! Oh! I got this I got this!

#1- Even if your writing feels like crap, don’t stop.

 

#2- Put tape or something over your backspace button when you write. DO NOT use the evil backspace button. I don’t care if you think that paragraph you wrote sucks. Ignore it and keep writing. You can come back and fix it later. (Later being after you’ve written all you need/want for the day OR when you finish NaNo) I used this technique last year and it actually helped me out cause then by covering the button I told myself I wasn’t going to go back and just keep writing.

 

#3-HAVE FUN. Yes, winning NaNo is fun but don’t lose sight of the fact that this isn’t a competition. People won’t make fun of you or dislike you cause you didn’t reach the 50k. Just have fun with it all ok?

 

 

So that’s my post! Hope you like it!

Until Next Time,

Adriana G.

8 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #1 || Introduce Your Novel

  1. I think the island of Mauritius is a lot more exotic and mysterious a setting for this novel. I mean, who wouldn’t want to live in the same place as the now-extinct Dodo bird? 😉 I’m looking forward to reading the story…even though the thought of major character deaths make me sad – LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

