The Ultimate NaNoWriMo Survival Kit

Hello Readers!

So Last November and the last Camp NaNo I participated in I made these little Survival Kit posts and I was going to just share them again (as I am participating in NaNoWriMo in November and even if I wasn’t a lot of people are…) but I decided, why not combine both and change some stuff around and add tons more gifs therefore making an ultimate survival kit post? I don’t see why I shouldn’t, so lets do this!

I will also warn you. This post contains MANY gifs of Lily Singh a.k.a iiSuperwomanii and I am not apologizing for it at all. (Also, if you don’t know who that is, go to Youtube and find out.)

NaNoPost

When it comes to NaNoWriMo, there are lots of things you are going to need to succeed and a fair amount of prep that needs to happen if you want things to go better-ish than normal.

So, I was gonna say that the first thing you should do is have a basic idea what you are gonna do, but lets be honest and say all plans we have usually go down the drain with an event like this. Which means the first step is:

1.) Actually prepare yourself for all plans to be destroyed and get used to making up new ones on the go.

2.) All your social interaction is cancelled. It’s just you and your computer now…No one else. You and your computer. And food.

Superwoman

NaNoWriMo is your life now you guys.

3.) Prepare for this feeling all through November:

Superwoman

Superwoman

BUT THAT FEELING IS OK! EMBRACE IT PEOPLE!!!

4.) Take Breaks

Being distracted and taking a break is a completely different thing. There is a lot of writing to be done daily, and because of that you should be careful not to get burnt out and take breaks. Just do it in intervals. Like write for twenty minutes then take a break for 5 to 10 minutes. (or whatever you want to do.) Though something to watch out with is this:

4.5) Don’t Use Writers Block as an Excuse to Take a Break.

If you keep using writers block or a slow scene as an excuse to take a break then you aren’t gonna get very far. (Harsh reality of it.)

Writing is hard, things get slow or a little difficult but thats where you have to fight through it. (Worst case if that scene is a huge mess, you can go back and fix it later.) If you’re stuck, have a book of writers prompts or play a song that gets you inspired to write that story or whatever. Just keep going and push through it. Don’t take a break just because it gets hard. The only time it is acceptable to take a long break is when it comes to eating and making food. If you don’t eat you will die….and you can’t write while doing NaNoWriMo! Food is important!!! Which brings me to point 5.

5.) Food and Caffeine are key in NaNoWriMo success.

Food and some sort of caffeinated drink is important. Thats what will keep you going because SLEEP IS OUT OF THE QUESTION HERE. Something that works really well is if I’m wanting food…(food is my favourite okay?) so I bribe myself with a snack or another cup of tea or something of the sort….Its funny how when you’re hungry you write a lot faster if food is the reward… But either way, you get my point. Reward yourself and set little goals for yourself and you will find that that novel will get done!

Superwoman

NOW with all that mental prep out of the way it’s time to get more into the actual things you are gonna need to write your novel and get it done.

6.) Obviously the Essentials

A laptop  or maybe paper and a pen or something…..but no matter what you use to write your novels there is something you need to know. Until your writing for the day is done you QUIT the internet. No internet otherwise you will be very distracted.

superwoman

7.) Plot/Outlines or whatever the heck you need.

This step may take more prep for others depending on whether you are a plotter, plantser or pantser.

8.) Music or Writing Podcasts

I often make playlists for my novels and I also listen to K.M Weiland’s  Helping Writers Become Authors Podcast. Seriously the best thing to ever exist you guys.

9.) Fangirl/Fanboy and just have fun writing your characters and your story!

Superwoman

10.) Ignore Haters

A lot of people think NaNoWriMo is a bad idea (silly Non-Writers, thinking they know better) but just push them aside and say:

Superwoman

and keep writing! YOU CAN DO IT!!!!

Superwoman

So that’s my post! I probably missed a lot of things so if I did feel free to comment and tell me what I missed 😄 But either way, I hope you enjoyed it!

Until Next Time!

Adriana G.

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate NaNoWriMo Survival Kit

  1. This is another post to get me pumped for NaNo this year! A friend of mine and I are doing it together and we’ve been training all month! I’m so excited!!! 😀 😀 😀

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is so awesome! I realized after writing that post that I still have yet to sit down and really figure out (more in depth anyways) the plot of my novel for next month….Oops. Anyways. Happy Writing during NaNo and may plot holes be few!:P

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

