Spotlight Saturday #12

Spotlight Saturday

 

So, first off, tell us a bit about you! 

I’m a 16-year-old student, blogger and researcher. I also enjoy reading and reviewing books, singing and playing the ukulele. I’m currently researching graphene-based sensors, but I’m fascinated by lots of areas of science, including space, disease mechanisms and ageing. I’m incessantly curious and nerdy, a bit of a grammar nut and love talking to passionate, geeky people. Journalists are endlessly creative when it comes to misspelling my name. I have unruly hair, three younger siblings and a long-standing and inexplicable aversion to eating fish.

 

 

What is the title of your blog? Where did you get the idea for the name? Any specific meaning behind it?

The title of my blog is its url, just stylized with brackets to Frizzy (Rose) Elle. My email address, which I created when I was about eight, is izzyroselle (an amalgam of my first and middle names: Elle, Isobelle and Rose). Then in August I was thinking of a name for this blog and my younger sister suggested frizzyroselle, a play on the email address and my crazy hair. I have a 3 year old book blog called darquessedreams, which is not a great name. I love the blog name Virtually Forever, but I think that’s already taken on Blogspot so I hold it over on WordPress on my empty blog there. I’m too committed to frizzyroselle now to change it though, I think.

 

 

What gave you the idea to start blogging? Was it sort of just ‘Hey, I should write a blog!’ or did someone suggest the idea?

I started my book review blog three years ago (June 2012) after reading the sixth instalment of the amazing Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy, Death Bringer. I loved it so much that I just had to create a blog to shout that to the world, even if no one was listening. They definitely weren’t professional posts – the first one was a detailed, earnest explanation of why you should ship two of the characters. The second and third posts were also about that book. Then I started reviewing everything I read. But I posted infrequently and felt stifled by not being able to post personal things about my life (according to the arbitrary rules of the blog). Also, it was summer and I was bored. Bam, personal blog. I started blogging daily rather than monthly in December, I don’t know why.

I’m the one who suggests the idea to everyone I meet. I’m the blog evangelist. The blog whisperer.

 
What can or will people find on your blog upon arriving? Do you have a target audience in mind?

It’s very varied. Irish people are the biggest audience, followed by Americans. And since my friends often get mentioned, many of them read it. But so do lots of middle-aged people. It’s about my life – events, projects, thoughts, causes, hopes and dreams, commentary… It’s a very good way to get to know me.

 
Are there any social media sites where people can follow you and still get notifications about your posts or something? 

I tweet almost every time I publish a post @frizzyroselle and my Tumblr (unrelated to blog) is smallbutverydangerous.tumblr.com.

 
And last, but not least. Feel free to give me a link (or links) of a couple of your favourite posts on your blog 🙂

I love this question. Reading my posts about fun days out with friends makes me happy – whether it’s an account of going to town with a friend, going to a reunion, or the best day of my year so far. I like interviewing people – see my interview with a photographer, interview with the founder of the Digital Youth Council,and interviews with people from different countries. Successful days like this and this are also fun to share.

3 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday #12

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

