Spotlight Saturday #6

Hello Readers!

Sooooooo its Monday…and I only just realized now that I forgot to schedule my next Spotlight Saturday Post! It was done, but I forgot to schedule it. So, please, excuse my blonde moment, jump on in the TARDIS and lets time travel back to saturday for another SPOTLIGHT SATURDAY!

So, today I am joined by Alyssa from The Devil Orders Takeout! So lets do this thing.

The Devil Orders Takeout

Welcome to The Librarian Files, Alyssa! First off, tell us a bit about you! 

I’m Alyssa, a high school student in Hong Kong. I don’t have a day job, but at night I breathe ink and paper and Kindle. In between bouts of writing, I dabble with laboratory bacteria and post on my writing and book blog.

 

 

What is the title of your blog? Where did you get the idea for the name? Any specific meaning behind it?

My blog is called The Devil Orders Takeout, because takeout is awesome and I am evil. It’s also partially inspired by the importance of takeout in Hong Kong, a busy city even on its best days. It took me a while to come up with this so my URL doesn’t match it, but I like the iambic meter in it. Go on, read it. I’m totally the next Shakespeare.

 

 

What gave you the idea to start blogging? Was it sort of just ‘Hey, I should write a blog!’ or did someone suggest the idea?

Initially, I wanted to share my writing and just started posting. Like most everyone else, I was shouting into the void then. I picked up blogging later thanks to the incomparably lovely Christina’s influence, this time with more of a focus on writing tips. When I started reaching out into the blogosphere, I started to incorporate readerly love in my takeout too.

 

 

What can or will people find on your blog upon arriving? Do you have a target audience in mind?

First of all, you’d find my posts, basically the flailings of a writer and reader with an emphasis on Chinese culture. You can also sign up for my newsletter, where you can receive exclusive updates on my writing and even take part in my creation process. I didn’t start out with my target audience in mind, which was a mistake, but most of my readers are in a similar demographic to myself: YA-NA book or writing bloggers, mostly ladies, liberal, opinionated, just a little on the evil side ;P

 

 

Is there any social media sites where people can follow you and still get notifications about your posts or something? 

I’m on Bloglovin’, which is my favourite way of following blogs. I also feature new blog posts on Twitter (@AlyssaC__HK) and Pinterest (HKAlyssa).

 

 

And last, but not least. Feel free to give me a link (or links) of a couple of your favourite posts on your blog 🙂

I’ve debated the legitimacy of literature teachers and the usefulness of eBooks before. I’m also a supporter of diverse representation in the media, so I’ve also advocated a Black Widow movie and explained the ins and outs of the original Mulan.

Thanks for having me, Adriana!

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday #6

  1. I totally never noticed that your URL is iambic. As a reader I believe that all of this is correct and true and your blog is so, so awesome. That is all, the end, and I want to hear you talk about bacteria sometime.

    Thanks for hosting, Adriana!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

