Spotlight Saturday #5

Hello Readers!

Time for another spotlight saturday post! I’ve got Julia from Julia The Writer Girl here with me on the blog! 😀

 

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 8.44.35 AM

So, first off, tell us a bit about you!

Hey there! I’m Julia. I’m a rising senior at the University of Michigan, majoring in Creative Writing & Literature with a minor in Global Media Studies (aka movies). I’m also currently an intern for the Elizabeth Kaplan Literary Agency, an admin/writer for http://www.teenscanwritetoo.wordpress.com, a blogger for the College section of The Huffington Post, and the founder of the Chapter One Young Writers Conference. Last year I interned for Folio Literary Management and studied literature abroad at St Peter’s College, University of Oxford. In my free time, I read a lot of books and drink a lot of tea (aaand watch a lot of Netflix). Also write. That’s something I occasionally do too.

 

What is the title of your blog? Where did you get the idea for the name? Any specific meaning behind it?

The title of my blog is “Julia the Writer Girl.” I honestly can’t remember how I came up with the name, except it wasn’t the original one. For some reason when I started blogging about three and a half years ago, I made the URL “Julia the Writer Girl” but the actual blog title in the header “Ink to Paper.” Readers started calling it “Julia the Writer Girl” pretty quickly, so about half a year in I made that the official name to simplify things. (Also, I realized that I liked that way better than “Ink to Paper.” Because hello.) The meaning behind “Julia the Writer Girl” is pretty straightforward: My name is Julia, and I am a writer who is a girl.

 

What gave you the idea to start blogging? Was it sort of just ‘Hey, I should write a blog!’ or did someone suggest the idea?

It was a combination of things. I’d heard from countless literary agents and authors that it was good for aspiring authors to blog, but I’d tried a couple times before and gotten nowhere with those attempts. Then it was senior year of high school and I got deferred from my dream university, and it was right before Christmas and my ancient, grouchy, lovely cat was dying, my other cat had died a couple weeks before, my novel had just been rejected off a full manuscript request for which I’d had really high hopes, I didn’t get cast in my high school theatre company’s winter competition show, and I was missing a Christmas party I’d really been looking forward to because, again, dying cat—so all of that combined kind of made me this bored, rage-ful seventeen-year-old ready to try anything to get the energy and emotions away from me. So I started a blog and never looked back.

Also, happy ending to the story: The cat ended up getting better and living for another year and a half before dying about as peacefully as a cat ever does, I ended up getting accepted to and attending the dream university after all (AND NOW I’M ABOUT TO BE A SENIOR WHAT EVEN), and I got a principle role in the spring musical. (And, of course, that otherwise kind of terrible period in my life led to my wonderful little blog.)

 

What can or will people find on your blog upon arriving? Do you have a target audience in mind?
My blog’s kind of a random mixture of whatever crosses my mind. I’ve written a lot of posts with writing tips lately, but I also share old pieces of writing and talk about clothes, movies, books, traveling, food, etc. So it’s kind of a writing blog crossed with a lifestyle blog.

My target audience is anyone who is willing to put up with me.

 
Is there any social media sites where people can follow you and still get notifications about your posts or something? (Tumblr, Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook etc.)

I link to every post that goes up on Twitter and my Facebook page. So:
Twitter: @Julia_Byers
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/JuliaByersAuthor

 

And last, but not least. Feel free to give me a link (or links) of a couple of your favourite posts on your blog 🙂

Ooh. This is a fun one.

Okay, so this is a post I wrote a couple months back about crafting plot in reference to mysteries: http://juliathewritergirl.com/2015/02/11/wordy-wednesday-every-story-is-a-mystery/

This is a fashion post I wrote about mimicking Emma Stone’s style [a moment of silence for Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield’s relationship]: http://juliathewritergirl.com/2014/02/24/steal-emma-stones-casual-cute-style/

And this post is just me gushing about meeting JK Rowling: http://juliathewritergirl.com/2014/07/22/story-time-i-met-jk-rowling/
Thanks for having me, Adriana!

And Thank you for joining me, Julia! 

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday #5

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

