Spotlight Saturday #4

SpotlightSaturday

 

Hello Readers!

Another lovely blogger has joined me this weekend for a Spotlight Saturday! That lovely person is Rae from The Wallflower.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.53.09 AM

So, first off, tell us a bit about you!

Rae: Well, besides telling ya’ll my name (since that’s fairly obvious), I can say that I’m currently in my last year in college, studying to earn my B.A. in English (emphasis Creative Writing). After that, there’s a slight possibility of an M.F.A. program. And, well, to put it simply: I intern at REUTS Publications, read YA (and other things), edit anything I can get my hands on, and listen to music. Also: my favorite color is orange (because orange rocks).

 

 

What is the title of your blog? Where did you get the idea for the name? Any specific meaning behind it?

Rae: My blog used to be called What Happened to the Wallflower, but recently I shortened it to simply The Wallflower upon a move in domains. The name actually comes from one of my favorite books, THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky. Personally, it simply symbolizes embracing who you are and not being afraid to just do what you want to do, while also understanding the possibility and need for growth and change.

 

 

What gave you the idea to start blogging? Was it sort of just ‘Hey, I should write a blog!’ or did someone suggest the idea? 

Rae: I’d started blogs in the past, but never kept up. However, I’d always loved the idea of blogging, more for myself than for anyone else, and figured: well, if there’s people out there who actually want to read what I have to say, then fantastic (the blogging community is seriously the best). After I started it, blogging then became a personal challenge to see if I can keep blogging while juggling school and writing as well. If I can do this, then I can do anything.

 

 

What can or will people find on your blog upon arriving? Do you have a target audience in mind?

Rae: People will find lots of book reviews (posted once a week, sometimes more), as well as twice-weekly posts on writing, including things to think about while drafting/revising/organizing a novel. Sometimes these posts are specific tips and tricks, and sometimes they’re just me putting some feelers out there, trying to get people to think about certain aspects of whatever they’re writing. There’s definitely a target audience: fellow writers. Of course, it’s open to anyone.

 

 

Is there any social media sites where people can follow you and still get notifications about your posts or something? (Tumblr, Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook etc.)

Rae: Yes! I’ve got quite a few social media accounts. You’re most likely to find me on Twitter (@Rae_Slater), but I’ve also set up a Tumblr (http://raeoestreich.tumblr.com/), Pinterest (https://www.pinterest.com/raeoestreich/), Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/RaeSlaterBooks?ref=hl), and I also have a Goodreads account where I post my book reviews (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20952959-rae).

 

 

And last, but not least. Feel free to give me a link (or links) of a couple of your favourite posts on your blog 🙂

Rae: Ooh, I get to choose my favorite posts? This’ll be fun:

Creating a Character Chart Using Excel: http://www.raeoestreich.com/writing/character-charts/

Creating a Novel Timeline Using Excel: http://www.raeoestreich.com/writing/creating-a-timeline/

The Villain as the Failed Hero: Humanizing Antagonists: http://www.raeoestreich.com/writing/the-villain-as-the-failed-hero-humanizing-antagonists/

And, last: Writing Multiple POVs: Separating Stories: http://www.raeoestreich.com/writing/writing-multiple-povs-separating-stories/

 

Thanks for joining me, Rae!

Thanks so much for having me, Adriana!

5 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday #4

  1. Hello Rae! I’ll have to check out your blog, expect me over there in a moment. ^.^

    Adriana, I tagged you in a post, if you’re interested. It’s about tv characters! No worries if you don’t want to do it, please don’t feel pressured. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great feature. ^ ^ I love this quote: “Personally, it simply symbolizes embracing who you are and not being afraid to just do what you want to do, while also understanding the possibility and need for growth and change.” That’s so true!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

