Spotlight Saturday #1

Hello Readers!

SpotlightSaturday

So, I have started something new called ‘Spotlight Saturday’s’ and the idea of said post series is shining a spotlight on some of my favourite blogs and asking the bloggers some questions! Fun stuff right? If you would like your blog to be featured on here or you know someone whose blog you want to see featured, you can use the contact form on this page: Contact Page and Review Policy

Now let’s get this thing started!

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 11.11.12 AM

 

 

Today I am so happy to interview the lovely Liz Brooks! Welcome, Liz πŸ˜€ So, first off, tell us a little bit about yourself! Β 

Liz: When I was a kid, I lived in Ivory Coast, West Africa for about two and a half years (that’s where I learned to love writing). That time was broken up into two stays due to civil war. We were evacuated after a coup d’Γ©tat in the early 2000s, and then a second time after French peacekeepers bombed the military helicopters at the presidential palace, less than a mile from our own home. Since we were white, we had to leave; otherwise the angry Ivoirians might very well have killed us. Now that I live in America, I can’t say anything nearly that big has happened, but I still have lots of interesting stuff to write about. Other assorted facts about myself: I’m a Christian, I’ll be going for my black belt in Karate in a few weeks, I am very fond of rats, and I’m an adult but I still listen to One Direction.

 

 

Not gonna lie that is all pretty dang cool! So, what is the title of your blog? Where did you get the idea for the name? Any specific meaning behind it?

Liz: Well, initially I named my blog “Confessions of a Caffeine Addict”, but when I showed my sister, she told me it was a terrible idea. Eventually I saw her point and began throwing around other options. I knew I wanted something coffee-related because a writer friend and I have a running competition about who likes/needs coffee more. So at some point I hit on “Out of Coffee, Out of Mind”, which I hope is more creative than the original.

 

 

I love your blog title! Super creative πŸ™‚ Β What gave you the idea to start blogging? Was it sort of just β€˜Hey, I should write a blog!’ or did someone suggest the idea?

Liz: I’m not sure anyone ever suggested the idea to me directly, but it wasn’t a spur of the moment decision either. From when I was way too young to be considering publication, I spent tons of time researching agents and writing advice, and various sources suggested it might be good to start a blog and build a platform of sorts. Honestly, I was a little intimidated, so I delayed until I started querying my first novel several months ago. Of course, now I really enjoy it, and I wish I’d taken the leap sooner.

 

 

What can or will people find on your blog upon arriving? Do you have a target audience in mind?

Liz: Visitors to my blog will find a random hodge-podge, mostly. I try to keep a pretty constant writing theme, but I do branch out every few posts or so because I want room for a wider audience. I know some of my readers aren’t writers themselves, and I like to give them a little something too. And from time to time, I’m in a goofy mood and I prefer writing something that reflects that mood. That said, my main target audience would be writers and readers, but I welcome everyone else.

 

 

Sounds absolutely wonderful! Is there any social media sites where people can follow you and still get notifications about your posts?

Liz: I struggle to promote my blog because I know there are so many out there, and I don’t want to act like mine is the only one worth reading. That said, I do tweet every time I post (my handle is @adelethelaptop), and occasionally I’ll add a link to my Facebook profile.

 

Oh, I know how that is! Too many social media websites to chose from. ( I got tired of just picking one and went for a couple haha)Β And last, but not least. Feel free to give me a link (or links) of a couple of your favourite posts on your blog πŸ™‚

Liz: Thanks. I’d have to say this one is my top favorite: http://adelethelaptop.blogspot.com/2015/04/strawberry-sadness-for-breakfast.html It ties into my bio (which I still intend to write at some point). I also like this one because it’s something I need to keep reminding myself of: http://adelethelaptop.blogspot.com/2015/02/superiority-complex.html

 

Thank you so much for helping me kick off this post series, Liz! Wonderful to have you πŸ™‚

Thanks for interviewing me!

7 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday #1

  1. Adriana: great new blog feature! I love finding/meeting new bloggers, so I can’t wait to see what you have in store for us!

    Liz: So nice to meet you! Coffee is wonderful, therefore I approve of your blog title πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard of this blog! Neat feature! Wow, what a backstory, Liz. That is crazy. O_O I also think you’re my honorary arch nemesis since my blog focuses on tea and yours coffee. πŸ˜‰ lol πŸ˜„

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Crazy Times Approach! | The Librarian Files

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

