A to Z Challenge || Letter Q: Query

Hello Readers!

QSo, as I near the querying stage of my YA novel ‘Holding on To Grace’ I have been getting lots of help to make sure that my Query Letter is perfect. So I figured, since the letter for the challenge today is ‘Q‘ I will discuss and share the tips I have gotten that have really helped me out!

 

 

First up. I used these post to help me write my Query letter and I highly suggest you check them out if you don’t know how to write your query or aren’t really sure how to go about it.

Link: The Most In-Depth Query Letter Advice on the Internet

Link: 5 Query Letter Mistakes You Should Avoid

 

After writing my Query letter, using the posts above to help me out. I went over it a couple times and was blessed to have the help of my cousin, Ammi. (Who is an Published Author and Literary Agent) She helped me out by looking over my Query letter and helping me fix up a couple things in which some of the advice is a good thing to note so I shall add below.

#1. I can see why you wouldn’t have it in here since it’s the prototype, but make sure and include a few sentences with some more specifics in each final query about the agent you’re querying, why you chose them or why you think they would be a good fit for your book.

#2. For your story summary, I would see if there is any way you can emphasize the plot elements as well. You have a lot about her emotional journey and the things she learns, which is good and paints a clear sense of the type of book this is. But in addition to her growth and personal changes, highlighting the external story elements that go along with that will help to really sell the story package as a whole.

As you can see, there were still a couple mistakes I kinda made (but that’s okay! It’s all fixed) but I found these tips helpful and maybe you already knew those things but hey, its a good reminder.

6 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge || Letter Q: Query

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

