Camp NaNoWriMo || Update

Hello Readers!

Time for another update on how my CampNaNo Novel is going!

NaNoWriMo Banner

So, It’s a week and a half into the event and so far it is going fabulously! I’m ahead at just over 14k words at the moment and will probably write some more once I finish this post ๐Ÿ˜€ Stick through this quick little rambling session and you shall be rewarded with snippets/scenes at the end of the post ๐Ÿ˜‰

What I’m Liking So Far: I’m loving the characters so far. They are my babies! This story isn’t going how I had thought it would but that’s not really a bad thing at all.ย  Though I will admit that I wasn’t seeing Maiya’s hatred for Mackenzie coming I’m loving all the characters so far and just how they are all becoming besties! (Okay not really at that point quite yet…But I’m getting there. Baby steps.)

Where I’m At Now: Characters have all been introduced and all but Tarryn have come to the Harrow Household at this point. I’m not sure what that little brat is planning on making an appearance here and end up where she should, but it SHOULD be very very soon. *eyes my character*… There has also been lots of feels that I was not expecting! I have also found out some more about Gabrielle and David (the foster parents) and am heartbroken! There are way more feels than I was expecting and I feel like I am not prepared….

What I’m Struggling With:

I’m once again struggling with the multiple POV’s again. I just don’t have any idea if there is a proper way to go about doing it or what…Though things are starting to pace themselves out pretty well I would say. So the struggle of doing 5 POV’s is a little hard at points but I’m getting there. There is also LOTS of research to be done as Maiya has many medical conditions. So figuring that out is time consuming. Basically I’ve defaulted to just putting down basic stuff and will do more in depth stuff later in the next rounds of edits.

Current Word and Chapter Count: 14.1k words total

Paisley: 8 Chapters

Tarryn: 4 Chapters

Maiya: 5 Chapters

Mackenzie: 5 Chapters

Gabrielle: 7 Chapters

Total Chapter Count: 29 Chapters

Scenes/Snippets! *NOTE: These are first drafts. I apologize for typos and poor quality of the scenes*

So, I have two scenes, both rather feels crushing, but I will share them anyways….Because I like them…

Scene #1: Gabrielle Harrow

The next morning, Gabrielle sat in the dining room, her bible opened in front of her and a steaming cup of tea in her hands. As she read through the Psalms, an early morning chill surrounding her, she heard the soft opening of a door across the house and the shuffling of feet coming towards her. Hearing the sound stirred a longing in her heart. A mourning feeling of longing in her heart that grew by the second until it played in a crystal clear vision in front of her.

A little girl whose blonde curls bounced as she darted down the hallway in the early morning light. She darted towards Gabrielle, beaming, laughter in her voice as she spoke the words: โ€œIs mornin mama.โ€ The little girl would then climb into her mother’s lap and hug her tightly chattering on and on about her dreams of fairies and princesses.

โ€œGood morning.โ€ A soft voice echoed in greeting pulling Gabrielle out of her dream. Her head snapped up to see Maiya taking a seat across from her at the table. A tear slipped from Gabrielle’s eye and as quickly as it slide down her face, it was gone as she wiped it away.

Scene #2: Paisley Moore

The woman wouldn’t tell her where they were going. She hated the strange woman regardless. She took her from her family and she knew that she wasn’t going home either. It was early in the morning when the strange woman came to get her and they drove for many hours.

Paisley glanced at the clock on the radio of the car that now read 11:30 am. โ€œWhere are we going?โ€

โ€œA different home.โ€

Tears built up in Paisley’s eyes, blurring her vision. โ€œWhy did you take me away?! Why can’t you tell me? Why can’t I see my mum and dad?โ€

โ€œThere is an investigation going on, Paisley.โ€

Paisley unbuckled from her seat in the back as the car turned onto an old dirt road. Quickly, she dived headfirst into the front passengers seat. She startled the woman and she slammed on the breaks, throwing her against the dashboard of the car. โ€œPaisley! Go back to your seat!โ€ She scolded.

โ€œNo. You have to tell me first.โ€ She snapped, crossing her arms. โ€œWhy can’t you let me go home?โ€

โ€œThere was an investigation, Paisley.โ€ The woman nearly whispered.

โ€œYou told me that already!โ€ She screamed in frustration, slamming her fist on the dashboard. Tears spilled down her face despite her not wanting them to. The tears did what they wanted and she couldn’t stop them. โ€œTell me why!โ€

โ€œThey found evidence that they were abusive…There were other things but I can’t tell you that.โ€

โ€œMy parents never hit me!โ€ She grunted in frustration, closing her eyes tightly, as her fingers got tangled in her red curls. She started to tug on the curls clenched in her first as she grunted. โ€œThey never hit me! They aren’t abusive.โ€

She felt the woman’s cold hands, hold both her hands and carefully untangle her hair from her hands. โ€œPaisley…You said they got angry with you a lot. They said mean things to you. That is a different kind of abuse.โ€

โ€œNo its not!โ€

โ€œYou were in the hospital three times… Why were you there each time?โ€

โ€œI don’t want to talk to you anymore!โ€ Paisley yelled and jumped back in the back seat again. Once she sat down and the woman started to drive the car again she let out a long, high, frustrated scream and yelled โ€œI hate you!โ€ repeatedly. Little did the woman know that she wasn’t screaming at her…but herself.

15 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo || Update

  1. Aw. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This book has so much sadness! And unexpected parts are the best parts of writing a first draft in my opinion. I’m slowly catching up with CampNaNo. My goal is 30K and I’m having to do 1500 to catch up, but I’m working two books so I’m hoping I can catch up and get it back down 1K so I can finish the other book and just concentrate on this one lol.

    Stori Tori’s Blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo || Winner! | The Librarian Files

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

