Distraction Free Writing

Hello Readers!

So today I am going to share a few tips with you lovely people on how I go about getting the most out of my writing….Which means going distraction free.

o-CELL-PHONE-facebook

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but as my days go on I find myself getting more and more distracted every morning I sit down to write. Whether that be by the internet or my phone. Over the past couple days, I’ve asked a couple of my friends about what distracts them from writing and just made a list of different ways you can go about focusing on your writing but still staying connected. (As in, if you wanna keep Twitter open, then great! Go ahead 😀 ) Now, I’m sure all these ideas are not new to y’all but sometimes I myself like a little reminder of alternatives to keep from getting distracted.  *writes the author as she gets distracted and ends up taking a ten minute twitter break*

Anyways! Here is a list of different distraction free approaches (all of which I use) to writing.

1. Do a series of Word Wars/Word Sprints.

Probably my favourite thing to do. I’m quite competitive so a little playful competition can really get me going. Because, setting a timeframe where I have to write and knowing that someone else is racing me to get the most words, really gets me going.

 

2. Have another writer friend keep you accountable.

This is another thing I do. If I am texting or chatting with another writer friend online and I need/want to go write. Sometimes I will say things like: ‘Okay. I am going to write for twenty minutes. If you see me online feel free to call me out on it and set me straight.’

That helps me keep accountable because the last thing I want is for my friends to scold me and think I’m a terrible writer! *gasp* That would not be good at all.

 

3. Use the ‘Distraction Free Writing’ setting on your word processor.

So, yeah. Just discovered this for WordPress ( WOOOOHOOO!) and I recently came to discover that both word processors that I use have this! It has worked wonders for me simply because. I love Twitter and my novel playlists are on Youtube. Both are distracting, and let me loose on Youtube and I’ll be watching every Ricky Dillon video in existence…a million times over. So, thats always nice when you have a playlist going or something and still don’t want to be distracted.

 

4. Set a timer.

Pretty simple. Turn on a timer and get writing. I find, by having a timer and KNOWING the minutes are counting down, that I get less distracted with everything else around me. (See #1 for similar alternative)

 

Bonus: 5. Turn off your Wifi and put away that phone

So, with this one, you can’t really stay connected or online considering you are turning off your Wi-fi. BUT this is my back-up plan. If I’m getting distracted, with the click of a button I turn off my wifi for a bit.  Next thing I do is put away my phone. Or if its sitting beside me, I will flip it so I can’t see the screen light up if I get a notification of any sort.

 

So, thats it! There is my list of ways I write without distractions. Do you have certain ways you go about not getting distracted while writing? If so, tell me them in the comments! 😀 I’d love to hear from you all on how you go about avoiding distractions.

 

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle

 

7 thoughts on “Distraction Free Writing

  1. Word wars are the best distraction reducers, and they are the best method for actually sitting down and pounding out some words. They also help a lot with accountability. Turning the Internet would probably be useful, too, but I use Google Drive to write, and well…I kind of like the Internet. 🙂 …Even though it might be distracting sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo || So You Want To Be A Winner? | The Librarian Files

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

