Tragedies and Trauma|| How To Convey Emotion As An Aftermath of Trauma

Hello Readers!

So, I wrote this post a while ago on another blog of mine ‘Pen Pals of Peculiar Personalities‘ and I really like the post and wanted to share it with you all over here on this blog today! So here you lovely people go! (Yeah, I blog on another writing website also 😉 I do a few different things than on here)

So, today I want to kind of talk about writing tragedies (or tragic things that have happened with your character) and how to effectively convey emotions that might come along with it or in the aftermath of it all.

So, in a handful of my novels I have had characters who come from broken homes, abusive relationships or they had become a rape victim and such things like that. Now when I say those things, you might cringe and probably wonder what a seventeen year old is doing writing stories like that…(Now you understand why I kept ‘Holding on To Grace’ (my novel about a girl who becomes pregnant from rape) under wraps for these last couple years because I was rather young when I started it.)

While writing these different scenarios I have learned one thing and that is that it’s not so much what you do to the character but how they react that will make it all believable. I mean, obviously what happens to the character (whether in the novel or never actually shown) needs to be realistic but what comes after that is the realistic reaction to what happened. Sometimes it is obvious what the effects of that said ‘traumatic’ or ‘tragic’ event might cause either emotionally or physically but some things are harder to depict. This is where either, going with your gut and going with the reaction you think fits/works or sometimes asking either a friend or other writers input is helpful too.

Another way I will try to figure out how one would react in a certain case of trauma would be to take a look at this. This list gives the most common examples of reaction to trauma. (Because everyone treats and reacts to it differently meaning your characters will too.)

 

fe5640c91cca70de89aa178c96842f81
Sometimes you may find, by looking at this list that your character suffers from some of these side effects. (instead of just one) and (I am no professional who knows how the human brain works and reacts to trauma or tragic experiences) that is usually normal when it comes to this. Or one thing accompanies another just depending on the situation.

 

Let me just give you a couple examples from my different novels and WIP’s (works in progress)

#1: Claire Tyler

Situation: Parents were murdered in front of her when she was eight. (yes, she is halfway to becoming batman in case you were wondering) Since then she has been in and out of foster homes and has suffered bullying many times either from school or from the other foster kids in the homes.

Effects That Has On Her: Depression, Insomnia/Flashbacks and Nightmares, Little or no memories, Loss of sense of Hope for future and Self harm.

 

#2: Tarryn McPherson

Situation: Parents died when she was 6 years old. (Was separated from her older brother as they were taken to different homes) Has never really fit in with any families. Was sexually assaulted when she was twelve and a couple years later was adopted by a nice family but the situation soon became both a emotional and physical abusive one.

Effects That Has On Her: Irritability, Eating Disorder (wants to look ‘perfect’ to hide that she is falling apart on the inside), Depression, Emotionally overwhelmed, and Worthlessness.

 
#3 Billie Crane

Situation: Was living in an abusive home for eleven years and was raped by her friend which then caused her to flee, in terror of her father’s wrath being taken out on her (even more so than before) or her baby.

Effects That Has On Her: Emotionally Overwhelmed, Nightmares/Flashbacks, Shame and Worthlessness and Loss of Interest.

 

As you can see from my examples here, most often times it’s never just one thing that plagues a person because maybe, for example, the Insomnia is due to nightmares or flashbacks. (or pick a different set of reactions) Most often times (depending on the severity or said experience) one is linked to another and really its a long chain your character will have to break one link at a time to be free from it. Though with some things there may always be that fear that that feeling could come back one day or maybe that one thing they feel will never leave fully and will always be lurking. That all really depends on the story itself and how your character is overall. Because, remember not one character acts the same even if put in the same situation.
Hope this helped you all my lovely readers! (I feel so terrible writing these posts but yet sadly, torturing our characters to build them up stronger, and maybe even better, than before must be done 😦 ) Oh! and also, this list of sorts really help me figure out a characters personality but another post that I have also found helpful was that written by my friend Carissa on her blog! That post is how to make insecurity maps for ones characters and let me tell you that technique works wonderfully! Click HERE to check that out too!

 

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle

9 thoughts on “Tragedies and Trauma|| How To Convey Emotion As An Aftermath of Trauma

  1. I like what you’re getting at with the character development here! It’s good to be sure that the action/reaction sequence with your characters is consistent with the way that your body physically and emotionally responds to certain circumstances.

    I’m not familiar with your work but I’m curious, in what way would you communicate these emotional deficiencies to best support your story line without edging on the side of over-exaggeration or excessive dramatization?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And that’s exactly it. 🙂

      And really I’m still learning that. If anything I actually don’t show emotion enough. But when I figure it out, I also figure out certain triggers that trigger the different reactions and such and try not to over exaggerate it…

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry it took be so long to read this post!

    This is really quite excellent. It’s something you notice in many books, especially those where the MCs are happily shooting up a place, and straight-up murderin’ people, with no ill-effects mentally. As any serving member of the armed forces will tell you, combat is hell, and unless you’re a man with a stone heart, you’ll likely be haunted by those faces.

    The same is true of traumatic experiences in the past; those never go away for people, often compounding into a damaged relationship with other people. That’s an important part there – any romantic or platonic relationship your characters form will be directly affect by their lack of trust/fear etc.

    So yes, a rather terrible post, but ultimately a rather useful one – and you’re right, without inflicting a little pain on our characters, how can we then turn them around and show their progress and change?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Brett! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 and I agree with you there. I have seen many a novel (in which I didn’t make it far) where there was really no traumatic experience so I made sure not to make that mistake with my novel. Hence my research of trauma and such after certain events. (and the like) and thats exactly it. The characters first have to suffer for us to see a change in them (wether for good or for bad is not always known but yeah 😛 )

      Like

  3. Pingback: Looking Back || February 2015 in Review | The Librarian Files

  4. Thanks for the helpful post! I’m currently editing a novel in which a character went through a war, torture, and having her memories forcibly blocked and then unblocked (multiple times), so I’ll have to keep this in mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

