Beautiful People Tag #5 || Author Edition!

Hello Readers!

Today’s post is an Author Edition of the Beautiful People Tag hosted by Cait over at PaperFury.com I love these tags and have been waiting for the next one to come out and here it is! Wooh! Let’s do this thing! (and by the way if you want to join this tag go ahead and check out either one of the links on the picture below and join in! Anyone can do it!)

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I’ve been writing since I was nine years old but I officially considered myself a writer about three to four years ago when I actually started writing seriously. I mean, before I actually completed a novel at that point I failed millions of story ideas but hey! Look where I am now! Got a completed manuscript…Took two years, but I got it! 😛
2. How/why did you start writing?

So you may have heard this before on some of my other posts or you many not have, but gather around. It’s story time!

It started by me meeting my best friend through a daycare my mum ran and I met my best friend through there. She actually hated me to start but then we both found out we loved fairies…We would play in the backyard literally all day and it would take a lot of coaxing from my mum to get us inside. But I started writing when my friend and I wanted to remember the whole, long and continuous story we acted out and added to every day and I’ve been writing ever since really….

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

All the lovely characters and being able to torture them! Mwhahaha… *cough* I-uh- I love just writing…
4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Showing vs. Telling! Ugh! It is so hard for me to show something. Instead all I’m doing is just telling you everything. Takes a long time to fix.
5. Do you write best at night or day?

Depends wether you count 4AM as still the night or really early in the morning…
6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

Uhhhh My writing space is my bed…Yeah, Messy I know…But I’m a 17 year old teenager who really hates cleaning her room until I can’t step into it…and even then…

FullSizeRender-38

So yeah, a mess but I have the lovely Grumpy Cat and Toothless The Dragon accompanying me on the bed. and hanging on the one wall are pictures of my family and friends and above the bed are encouraging emails from my family and friends and poems by my Great Grampa (who passed away the first of this year 😦 ) So yeah, surrounded by lots of love as I write 🙂
7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

It takes about six months or so to write a complete draft when I’m on a roll. It’s kinda nice.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

About two or three at once. Though this year I’m kinda focusing one one at a time…but we all know that probably won’t last very long at all!
9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Realistic endings for me. Whether thats happy or sad depends on the story.
10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

My mum’s cousin (who is just plain old amazing) Ammi Joan Paquette and Laura L. Smith. Both have been crazy amazing and supportive and not only have they helped me out and influenced me and my writing journey but also just my real life journey too! Such amazing women and amazing role models…

Wow. That turned sappy, fast 😛 haha what can I say? Ammi and Laura rock.

Oh, and Ammi, if you are reading this I sincerely apologize for those chapters you looked at a couple years back and how TERRIBLE those were…If you can, please erase them from your memory so as not to ruin your image of me and my writing skills….
11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

I only have a list of like three or four trusted people I let read drafts and critique but I will share snippets with people sometimes….because I’m always scared people will steal my stuff (even though we won’t) and I always fear judgement! *gasp*
12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

To be a published author. Nuff said.
13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

Work with teens and be a youth leader or something…or maybe an artist…but who is to say I can’t be all of them?
14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

Not at the moment but for all I know, now that I’ve said it, I will hit the ‘Publish’ button on this post then something will come to me… Thats how my silly little brain works.
15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Probably either my completed novel ‘Holding On To Grace’ (since its mah baby!) or my upcoming novel ‘More At Home With Strangers’ both are extremely special to me so…yeah 😛

 

Well, thats it for my Beautiful People tag!

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle!

16 thoughts on “Beautiful People Tag #5 || Author Edition!

  1. It also took me two years of failed manuscripts to finish a novel. I struggle with showing and not telling, too, and with knowing the difference between when I should show and when I should tell. The first draft of a novel I’m editing right now has so many sections where it’s all telling and I’ve had to go in and try to change that to showing. Good luck with your venture into trying to get published!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “All the lovely characters and being able to torture them” — YES 😀

    I was editing one of my first drafts and realized that the whole novel was basically me showing not telling. *facepalm* That’s a struggle for me, too.

    Three or four projects at once? I envy you. No matter how hard I try, I just can’t work on more than one. So you’re lucky that you can!

    ~Emily

    Like

    • Haha see i usually tell. Its an issue. Gotta show the things!!

      And yeahhhh. I blame it on my seven younger siblings…I’ve learned to multitask thanks to them and now (when it comes to anything.) I cant do just one thing! Lol

      Like

  3. Oh my gosh my sister and I used to make up stories about fairies when we were little! That is so cool you’ve done that too! Night owls unite! It’d be so cool to look back at these in the future and see like, “That’s how we were when we were unpublished writers.” lol. XD Good luck with your writing and God bless!

    Stori Tori’s Blog

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Whenever I get my writing critiqued, people always say I do too much telling. Always. Without fail. I didn’t even realize a lot of it!

    I love your story of how you started writing! Are you still writing the fairy story?

    Like

    • Yes, that is always my issue. My poor critique partner got so bored of telling me what to fix that she would put in brackets beside the sentence (or whatever) these words: ‘Telling’ and then I realize how Tell-y it really was then I fix it up haha.

      and not anymore. Can’t even find what we wrote anymore 😦 Must have gotten lost in one of our moves…But I want to write a fairy story for kids one day in honour of that story that started it all.

      Like

  5. Yeah, writing just seems to creep into a lot of our lives without noticing 🙂 I actually share some of my writing on Figment and work on novels with CPs – I’ve gotten over judgement on the Internet, but I have yet to show people in real life my writing. And of course, publishing a novel would be so awesome I can’t even. *sighs and goes back to writing*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

