Author Interview: Rachel Day

Hello Readers!

I am bringing you another interview from a real good writer friend of mine! Who is it? Well I’ll let her tell you 😉

 

writing-2

 

Hello and welcome! To star, Tell us who you are and a bit about yourself!

I’m Rachel Day and I’m from the beautiful country New Zealand. I live in a little farm house with my six younger siblings. I like drinking coffee & tea, going to the library, and drawing pictures. Plus I’m proud to say I’m a 90’s kid (end of 90’s. Still counts though)

 

Do you have a published novel? Or are you still working on a WIP?

I am not yet published. In fact I have only been writing for a year. I am currently working on my NaNo project Clandestine. I am in love with this project. And there is no way I can put it down now.

Clandestine is the first book in the Neverland Trilogy. Its based in a city a millennium after a great apocalypses/war. The city is the only living settlement, there is nothing out beyond the haunted Neverland. Within the city there lives four races: Inferno, Luminosity, Shadow, and Iciest.

The genre group I would put this into is: Speculative fiction, dystopian YA, (with a mix of Sci Fi, and fantasy)

 

Traveling! Do you love it? Why? Where is a place you dream of going one day? Anywhere you want to go or have been? Wether a place where writing research is to be done or story ideas to be discovered OR just for fun 🙂

I have never been out of the North Island. My dream is to travel one day. I want to go to Europe to see castles and Churches. But more than anything I want to go to New York. First I want to go find the location of Agloe from Paper Towns. And I also want to go see the abandoned Bennett College (Halcyon Hall) in Millbrook. Both of these locations are in New York.

I want to go to Millbrook, cause its a (sneak peak) Location for the second book in the Neverland Trilogy, Halcyon.

 

What kind of music do you love to listen to? Any specific music or songs you listen to while writing/reading?

When writing I listen to artist such as: Ellie Goulding, TigerTown, Broods, The Civil Wars, Lindsey Stirling, Birdy, and Paper Kites. Plus I like to listen to instrumental movie soundtracks.

I have a different taste in music. But I love all these bands and artist! Their music is just so beautiful. And I can listen to them for hours (wait a second… I do listen to them for hours)

 

Is there a message within your novel(s) you are wanting readers to grasp? A certain feeling you want them to walk away with?

I’m a very deep writer. So all my work has deep compelling meanings (I don’t know how I do it)
For the Neverland trilogy I have a quote that sums it up “No matter what we breed, we still are made of greed.” -imagine dragons
Simply the meaning comes down to human depravity. We are never going to be able to create a perfect race. We are so fallen inside.

The other is that; I want my readers to walk away with knowing that nothing is ever what you see on the surface. Adding to the walking away part, I don’t want them to forget what they just read.

 

It’s story time! Tell me your story! When and why did you start to write? What inspired you to start writing?

Reading. I suppose that was the kick start. Especially after reading the Hunger Games. But after finding the genre I liked to read, I started to get the urge to start writing that.

I started properly write last year (2014) before then, I could hardly put my thoughts down on paper. But after doing NaNoWriMo, my writing skills shot sky high.

 

Now, I always feel the need to ask this, When it comes to mythological creatures, which is your favourite? Why? (Is this creature more commonly known or not? Any particular myths you enjoy?)

Recently I have not read as much fantasy, so I’m not very knowledgeable about all the creatures and magic (I still love fantasy though)
But I’m going to have to say Mermaids. I’ve always loved mermaids. Ever since I was a little girl I have wanted to be one, and I still do. (still a child at heart)

 

Which fictional character (of your own) do you feel you relate to most, and why?

I relate to Iris the most. She is my inner being, (does that sound weird?) any how, she is so much like me, so I can relate to her more than any of my other characters that I have created.

 

 

Which fictional character (not your own charcater) do you feel you are most liek to/relate to most, and why? (It can be a charcater from a TV show, movie or book! Up to you!)

Katniss from the Hunger Games. Cause when she volunteered to save her sister, I would have done the same thing for one of my sisters (I think about it a lot) And I know deep-down, that I can be as strong as Katniss.

 

 

Which genre do you like to read? Do you also enjoy writing in that genre? Why or why not?

I like reading Dystopian, Sci Fi… and I love writing in that genre. I like the fact that I can create a world after this one. I just like the thought of “what is going to happen after this time?” So in a way, its like creating a none real future.

 

Are you a plotter or a pantser when it comes to writing? To outline? or not to outline? That is the question.

I’m a plotter. I like to have planned out everything before hand, such as: world building, list of characters, plot, etc.

 

When did you write your first ‘story’ and how old were you when you wrote it?

I wrote my first story when I was about 6 or 7. I made it into a little picture book. I still have it… haha its really cute actually.

 

What is one (already published novel) you wish you wrote, and why? Is this novel a bestseller? or not as commonly known?

Hard one! Maybe Divergent. Cause I love those books. (still need to read the third one, so no spoilers!)

 

Last thing! Where can we stalk-Um..I mean find you online?
(Social media pages, Links to purchase novels(if any), Blogs etc. etc.)

Well since you bought it up. I am on twitter @Queenie_Rachy (if you follow me, I will give you a follow back) I’m also on Pinterest (http://www.pinterest.com/RachyDay1998/)

And last but not least, I have my beloved blog Stained Glass Windows. (http://rachywriter.blogspot.ca/) I do a lot of writers rambling, talking about my books, and I’m also planning on doing book and movie reviews.

 

So thats it! Thanks Rachel for doing this interview and thank you for reading it!

 

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle

 

7 thoughts on “Author Interview: Rachel Day

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

