Novel Time#4- How’s The Writing Going?

Hello Readers!

noveltime

So,I know it’s Monday, but I couldn’t think of a Share The Love Post for today (been to busy writing and doing school to read 😦 ) but also during a month we can just assume that I will be doing a Novel Time post every Tuesday instead of every other Tuesday…There are just so many link ups and characters to interview and so much noveling goodness! That and you get a sneak peak into my novels….which never happens cause I’m usually pretty secretive about my novels. So, before I start this link up, I want to just remind you that Rowan’s character interview is still open! So you can click the link HERE and go ask him your questions and I will be interviewing him on Tuesday. Okay? Okay. Good. Lets do this thing!!

(I am doing a linkup from The Notebook Sisters blog once again. This linkup is open for all of November, so if you wanna do it pop on over to their site (Click HERE) and grab the questions for yourself 🙂 )

Be honest: how is your writing going?

I am behind 😦 It is a sad thing, but other than that it’s going good. I’m hoping I will catch up eventually though…

What’s your first sentence/paragraph?

Okay…I actually had a lot of fun with this one. This was originally the start of my prologue but after changing a couple things around and filling in a plot hole from earlier I somehow missed in my frenzy to figure out more about this book before NaNo started, This became my first chapter…and I quite like it.

I don’t see what Harry Potter was complaining about, I liked my little room under the stairs. Sure, I had the whole rest of the bedroom, but I wanted to be out of sight from anyone who immediately walked into my room so I pushed my bed under the stairs and that’s where I sleep. It’s not that bad. It’s actually kinda fun.

Someone came running down the stairs and I sat up quickly.

No, wait, wait!

BANG!

Too Late. My head made contact with one of the stairs. I rubbed the sore spot on the top of my head, wincing as I lay back down.

Ouch.

Do you have a book cover, and/or pictures that reflect your book?

I do actually have a cover that I made from a picture I found on the internet, and you have all seen it before. I have spent a long time searching for who actually took the picture so I could credit them (Cause I only added a piece of text) and I found the original photographer! So I will post the cover again and also the link to the photographers deviantart page.

HERE is the link to the photographers page and here is the cover!

Walking_alone_by_al_fahad515 copy

Along with my cover I also have a Pinterest board filled with quotes, pictures and prompts for my story.

Do you have pictures of each of your characters? If not, describe them for us! (Be as descriptive as you can.)

I do actually! Eep! I have been dying to show off my lovely characters to you all!! 😀

Well, I’m pretty sure you know who these lovely darlings are (if you’ve seen my previous posts) but if not, these are foster siblings Rowan Scott (left) and Claire Tyler

Image-1-2

Next up are the other members of the Scott Family (Claire’s Foster Family)

Top(Left to Right) : Claire’s foster father, Sheldon and her foster mother, Kirsten

Bottom(Left to Right) : 3 year old, Ruby and 8 year old, George

Image-1

 

And, last but not least we have Claire’s friends. (Yes, she does actually have friends…though a couple of them she hasn’t seen in years and the one guy Claire ‘tolerates’)

Top: Finn Jackson

Bottom: (L-R) Lucy Sheridan and Joshua Sheridan

Image-1-3

What scene are you most excited to write?

Um…There is this one scene where a childhood friend of Claire’s comes to see her and I am excited for that cause she will never see it coming!! 😀

Share a snippet or a scene that you really enjoyed writing.

Oh my. Only one? Okay….So I guess I will do this one scene that is an exchange between Claire and her 3 year old, foster sister Ruby Scott. (Whether or not Claire wants to admit it, she loves Ruby so much.)

After a couple minutes of silence, I heard a soft knocking on my bedroom door. “Who is it?” I called out, annoyed that people couldn’t just leave me alone for a little while.

“Is me!” A small, childish voice called out quietly. “Is Ruby. I come in?”

I couldn’t help but smile at the way little Ruby pronounced her name. ‘Wuby’ was how it sounded to me and I couldn’t lie, it was pretty cute…and so was she.

“Come in.” I called as I sat up in my bed. The door creaked and I watched it slowly opened and after a moment, a little red headed girl darted into my room. She closed the door behind her softly and then ran over to me, launching herself on to my bed. “Hiii.” She giggled as she scrambled to sit up. After a moment of struggling she sat across from me a huge grin spreading across her pale, freckled face. Her red hair that normally framed her face stood up on end from the static when she dived on my bed and got tangled in the huge blanket as she tried to sit up.

“Hi Ruby.” I forced a smile for three year old.

“You play with me, Claire?” She asked cocking her head to the side slightly.

I lay back down. “But Claire is sleepy.” I muttered as I placed my lower right arm over my eyes. Not a lie. I was tired as usual, but that happens when you hardly sleep or sometimes don’t sleep at all.

I felt her climb on top of me and sit on my stomach. “Pwease.” I heard her plead.

“Maybe.” I said finally and didn’t say anything else for a long while and she was quiet too. Then I felt something soft run over my lower arm, over the scars that remained there. Slowly, I pulled away my arm from my face enough so I could see her and found Ruby, still sitting on my stomach her little fingers running over the scars on my arm. “You hurt?” She asked quizzically.

“Yeah…I got hurt.”

Ruby didn’t say anything as her facial features twisted in a thoughtful confusion. Then suddenly she gasped and leaned forward and kissed the scars on my arm. “I kiss it better! No more hurt!”

I stared at her, stunned. I had never seen a little child react in such a way to see someone’s arms covered in scars. A part of me wished that would work, that her care would take away this feeling that gripped at me and ate me alive, but I knew it wouldn’t so there was no point in pretending. But her words did make me think, even if just for a moment, that maybe people did care. A child did. She didn’t understand but she attempted to make the hurt go away There must be other people too. Other people who cared…Right? Who knew my pain and wanted to help?

“Come here, you.” I muttered as I sat up and scooped Ruby up into my arms hugging her tightly. She just sat there, smiling at me, completely happy.

 

Feels crushing, right?

Now that you’re writing, have any of the plot details, or the process itself, turned out different from what you planned or imagined?

Lots of things have, actually but the main one was:

The story line that includes Joshua. Apparently when she was at the foster home where he lived (Lucy is his little sister), they both developed a crush on each other…but sadly that relationship was torn to shreds when Claire was moved to another foster home (she didn’t even get to say goodbye to Joshua! Isn’t that terribly sad?) – I had not planned for any of this to happen. Joshua wasn’t even a character until a couple days ago, you guys. But I did realize him not being in it was a main reason for something missing in my plot….There is so much connected to his character! I’m not even kidding you…So I went back and fixed it! *Gasp* I know, I backtracked! On NaNoWriMo! I am breaking all kinds of rules here… (I’m kidding)

 

Is there a character or aspect of your plot that’s difficult to write?

At the moment, no….but I’m waiting for something to suddenly pop up out of nowhere… *Whispers* I can feel plot or character issues arising. They’re coming for me.

What’s your favorite aspect of this novel so far? Favorite character?

I love love love the relationship between Kirsten and Claire that is building. It is so sweet and even though Claire tries to keep distant and pushed Kirsten away after they seem to bond or connect Kirsten has an amazing amour of patience and gentleness she uses towards Claire and lets her approach her instead. And as for a favourite character, besides my main character, It’s definitely Kirsten. Though I like Rowan too…Okay. I love all my charries.

Have you drawn off of any life experiences or people you know to create your novel and your characters?

I have take bits of pieces of experiences I have gone through and my friends and family and mixed it all together to get these certain characters, situations and events.

Do you have a playlist or certain song for your novel and/or characters?

I am currently constructing a playlist, but the other day, my friend suggested a song to me that fits Claire so well. (It’s kinda sad I hadn’t heard of this song considering it is forKING&COUNTRY’s first ever EP) It’s a beautiful song and fits my character so beautifully.


Let’s have some fun for a moment: imagine you are somehow transported into your book’s world. Which character are you most likely to be found hanging out with?

All of them!! Okay, I’m kidding. If I could get through to Claire, probably her. Or maybe Rowan. I just can’t decide 😄

How do you keep yourself motivated to finish your daily wordcount? (Pinterest? Internet breaks? Chocolate?)

Um….I haven’t really met my daily word goal for a couple days now…but I use lots of tea and packages upon packages of Sweet Tarts and Rockets 😄 So much sugary inspiration…and chocolate on occasion.

What your favourite writing quote or piece of writing advice?

I really love this piece of advice. It’s great!

1cc30749b8df8b86f0ac773a9dfcb1ba

How does this book make you feel so far? Are you laughing? Crying? Frustrated?

Lots of crying and crushed feels….but also lots of giggling at Rowan and Claire’s exchanges. Those two..I tell ya.

 

So! Thats it for how my writing is going! Hope you enjoyed this post (and all the lovely sneak peaks) and don’t forget to go ask Rowan some questions! (I dare you all to click HERE and do it! You’ll find info about him at the bottom of the post XD)

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle

4 thoughts on “Novel Time#4- How’s The Writing Going?

  1. Giggling is good! GIGGLING IS GREAT! I’d rather snicker over my books than cry. 😄 And I adore witty banter in books. *nods* It’s my favourite. OH but this: “plot or character issues arising” <– WELL THEN. *passes out armour, helmets and chocolate. I hope you defeat these issues! Down with the uprising! Up with the wordcount! HUZZAH.
    ^_^
    Thanks for linking up with us! And whhhheee! I hope NaNo keeps going awesomely for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

