Novel Time #3- Wanna Hear More About My NaNoWriMo Novel?

Hello Readers!

It is once again, Novel Time!

noveltime

 

Today, I am doing a linkup from Further Up and Further In and today, I will be answering this months questions for you, (They do them once a month), Showing you some character quotes, giving you an update on my novel AND I will also be introducing you to Rowan (another character from my NaNo novel who is up for Interviewing!)

First, I am gonna tell you about my progress in the NaNoWriMo Challenge AND show you some character quotes.

Claire 1So as for my word count in this lovely challenge, I’m a bit behind, at 3629 words, but it’s nothing a few Word Wars with my friend Natalie won’t fix! (and an hour or writing to myself once this post is done.) So far I’ve had a lot of potential character quotes that are heart wrenching-ly lovely (yet sad), but I’m only going to share a couple for now and save some more for my next post 😉 Hope you like these other two and that they kinda pique your interest and- and I forgot how I was gonna end this…Okay well you get my point.

Claire2

Now, I am gonna tell you a little more about my NaNoWriMo Novel!

1. What came first: characters or plot idea? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Claire was the first element of the story to pop into my head. And to be honest, sometimes I’m a plotter and then other times I’m a plantser 😉 this time I kinda only have a tiny bit to go on so we will see what happens there.

2. Do you have a title and/or a “back-cover-blurb”?

The title is Aimlessly Wandering and I only have my Pitch sentence simply because I don’t know the entirety of the plot so… Here is the little blurb:

The last ten years of Claire’s life have been lonely and love was not top priority. After her parents murder, and twenty foster homes, Claire finally has to decide what to do with her life and who to trust.

3. What word-count are you aiming for when your novel is finished?

I am aiming for at least 50k for this novel. (Though I am slightly worried since my first drafts are always SO short! Like 35-40k short)

4. Sum up your novel in 3 sentences.

Girls parents get murdered.

Is unwanted by anyone.

Decides to change and actually control what happens in her life.

5. Sum up your characters in one word each.

Claire- Broken

Rowan- Mischevious

Lucy- Friendly

Joshua- Protective

Kirsten (Kirstie)- Caring

6. Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them!

Well the story is from Claire’s POV but I am really excited to write Rowan and the very snippy/snarky exchanges he and Claire have. It will be absolutely wonderfully fantastic!

7. What about your villain? Who is he, what is his goal?

There is no real, in the flesh villain. The villain really is Claire’s inner conflict with herself and the ‘monster’ of depression that has dragged her down.

8. What is your protagonists’ goal? And what stands in the way?

To actually belong somewhere and be loved but her inner conflict and fear of rejection really stands in the way of that.

9. What inciting incident begins your protagonists’ journey?

There are multiple things leading up to it to be honest. Moving to a new home, being accepted for who she is there, being reunited with an old friend who wants to help her…lots of things.

10. Where is your novel set?

I’m not entirely sure what city/town yet, but it takes place in (Modern Day) Califronia.

11. What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely?

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure at the moment since my novel is hardly outlined. I just have a very basic plot to work with.

12. What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story?

The most dynamic relationship Claire has is with Lucy who she feels is her only friend. But throughout the story she becomes extremely close with Kirstie her foster mother.

13. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

By the end of the novel, Claire finally decides that she doesn’t want to just go through her life wandering aimlessly but that she wants to live somewhere and belong and she decides to do something about it and actually change.

14. Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens?

I have a basic idea of how far the character comes development wise but that is about it, meaning I plan to see what happens.

So, that’s a bit more about my novel 🙂 I’ll keep you updated as NaNo goes on!

Now, last but not least, I get to introduce you to Rowan Scott then you get to interview him (in the comments below) and when/if I get enough questions I will interview him either next Tuesday or in a couple weeks for the next Novel Time post 🙂

rowan

Meet Rowan Scott. A 18 year old A+ student who is the most charming guy you could- Oh for goodness sake, who am I kidding? I can’t lie to you guys!

Okay, so Rowan kinda sucks at school and is barely passing. The only class he’s actually getting great marks in is Science. If he actually tried to study he would be the A+ student I mentioned above, so he has potential. Rowan is the oldest of 3 kids. (His brother George is 10 and his sister Ruby is 5) Rowan is also Claire’s foster brother and can actually be quite a pain. He for some reason loves to make Claire angry but I don’t think he realizes that most days Claire is resisting the urge to break his nose. Rowan actually can be a pleasant guy to be around and a lot of fun but for some reason (guess you’ll have to ask him because I don’t know why) likes to bug Claire….Maybe its some sort of ‘Welcome to my home, initiation time’ thing or something…I don’t really know.

ANYWAYS… Rowan is big into sports and, weirdly enough, loves to paint. (Shhhh. Don’t tell him I told you.) Rowan has also picked up a few things about computers and all things tech from his dad who is all about technology and his expertise in that area is what landed him a job at a technology and video gaming store.

So there ya go, That’s Rowan for you.

Got any questions for my buddy here? What are your thoughts on the character quotes? A favorite of the two? Are YOU doing NaNoWriMo this year? If so give me the link to your blog or NaNoWriMo page! I would LOVE to know more about your novel and cheer you on and stuff!

Until Next time!

Adriana Gabrielle

8 thoughts on “Novel Time #3- Wanna Hear More About My NaNoWriMo Novel?

  1. Loved the line about the scars. Made me hurt for Claire, for the feelings she’s had to fight. And as for Rowan, what questions to ask? I’d love to know who his favorite painter is (I tend to love Van Gough) but I don’t want him upset about his painting being found out. Favorite sports would be fun to know, favorite athlete. What sport would he like to go professional in if he had the chance.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Finally!…A Writing Post! | Adriana Gabrielle Writes

  3. Pingback: Novel Time#4- How’s The Writing Going? | Adriana Gabrielle Writes

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

