How I Kissed Dating Goodbye

Hello Readers!

No, I have not fallen off the planet. So I haven’t read as many books as I would have thought (but I have read 4 and therefore have 3 more upcoming reviews) but I’ve been having a blast this vacation 🙂

Today isn’t really going to be a review but more of a discussion. (If that makes sense.) Well, with that said, on with the post!

107195

Tired of the game? Kiss dating goodbye.

Going out? Been dumped? Waiting for a call that doesn’t come? Have you tasted pain in dating, drifted through one romance or, possibly, several of them?

Ever wondered, Isn’t there a better way?

I Kissed Dating Goodbye shows what it means to entrust your love life to God. Joshua Harris shares his story of giving up dating and discovering that God has something even better—a life of sincere love, true purity, and purposeful singleness

 

photo 3

Readin’ on the beach in lovely Osoyoos, BC 🙂

Whether or not you’ve dated before or you’ve never been on a date in your life (Therefore being single like myself 😛 ) or you just aren’t currently dating someone…This book is for you.

This book was fantastic and not only spoke to young men but to both young men and women.

This book discussed thinks like purity, how media portrays dating to be, what the bible says about dating and relationships and the like.

The author went through every topic in the dating world and spoke honestly about it.

Most importantly her turned to the bible, giving examples of what God says in the bible for each chapter topic. I cannot think of one chapter  in the book where the author didn’t use a verse from the bible. Everything he said was backed up with a bible verse.

While reading this book I learned a great deal and after reading this book I feel that God is pleased with my decision to not date. In many ways I believe I honor God by avoiding the dating scene.

(Please understand that I am not saying that by dating you are dishonoring God. Or that your honor towards him is less than my own. I’m also not saying that by dating that you are a bad person. I know many people who date (my parents dated when they were young) and there is nothing wrong with that but I personally think that I will shy away from the dating scene.)

This book was a great thing to read, for me, because it helped me realize many things about dating or relationships. (both Pros and Cons)

One thing that jumped out at me in the book was where the author spoke of singleness and the reason behind it (according to the bible).

This was a great thing for me because I will admit that its hard sometimes. Sometimes I wish I had a boyfriend like everyone else or that a boy would tell me he liked me! Today it is especially hard because so many people are in relationships. (Especially a lot of my friends)

The author mentioned how our years being single (As in being a young adult or teenager) are short and should be spent growing closer to God and digging deeper into his word.

I now realize how important this stage of my life is!

I’m now seeing the importance of being single now. Sometimes it just takes something like this to open your eyes.

I need to focus on God. That’s whats important…and then, when God knows I am ready Mr.Right will come along. (and that in itself is a whole other huge step…or series of steps…I don’t really know. I haven’t done this stuff before :P)

This book was a really great read, opening my eyes to dating/relationship world and how, even though I don’t date, a special someone will find me, if it is God’s will, in God’s own timing.

Not my own.

This book is a must read and one that I give 5 big, huge, sparkly stars.

 

Until Next Time!
Adriana Gabrielle

 

 

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

