Why I Don’t Review Books I Don’t Like…And You Shouldn’t Either

Hello Fellow Readers,

Today I am going to talk about something that came up in a conversation with a book lovin’ friend of mine the other day.

I was talking to my friend the other day about a book I was reading called ‘Rising’ by Holly Kelly (book review on that coming soon) and I was telling her how awesome it was and so on and so forth but then my friend mentioned that she was reading this book she absolutely hated (don’t remember the title but it’s not important) and was now disappointed that she had to write a book review about it for her blog. (Because she also said she was writing the said review)

I simply replied and told her not to write it then.

Let me explain why.

 

For me, as an Author (Though still unpublished 😛 ) I would rather you not review my book than give me a bad review. I get it that some people review whatever they read, like it or not but most of the time I do NOT review books I don’t like.

A couple reasons:

1.) If it were my book I wouldn’t really want a negative review…just for the sake of being negative.

Critiques? Yes. Those are fine.

Bad reviews? Nope not a fan. They also aren’t a pleasant thing to write (or read when they are about your book)…Well for me anyways. This is where my Amity side comes in and I like to make peace and I am very kind to people and so on and so forth 😉

 

2.) I HATE writing negative reviews.

I hate, and I mean HATE, writing a terrible review about something. When I am forced to or complain about a product to a store or write a negative review I become a grumpy dragon afterwards…Thats when you especially don’t mess with me.

 

tumblr_inline_n0go1hFxcT1sxwtr3

tumblr_inline_n0go46GhBD1sxwtr3

Sorry but GIFs were a necessity…

 

This is also one of the reasons I did NOT write a review for the ‘Matched’ Trilogy. I found so many flaws and plot holes ( and a love triangle that dragged on for too long *shudder* ) in the second and third books that I simply didn’t want to sit down and write a review about it. It wasn’t going to be pleasant, so why do it?

If you asked me personally what I thought of the Trilogy cause you wanted to buy it or something, I would tell you honestly what I thought but I am not going to write a review about it…because it would all be negative.

 

These are only a couple reasons I don’t write reviews (though I have a few more but aren’t really related to it if that makes any sense at all…) but usually, if I wasn’t sure if I liked a book enough to write a review this is what I do (and I find it is really helpful. You should give it a try). I ask myself these questions:

1.) How many stars would I give it on goodreads/amazon etc etc.? 

If I mentally would give it anything under 4 stars I don’t write the review. (but thats what I’ve set for myself….and I usually give books that I review 5 stars anyways cause I loved them and fangirled over the books enough to write a review…)

 

2.) Can I think of 3 mistakes or things I didn’t like about this book?

Yes? Don’t write the review. Why? If you can think of 3 major things you hated or didn’t like(hating an antagonist or annoying character doesn’t count….cause thats supposed to happen) about the book, wether its something to do with the plot, characters (in general) or setting (or dreaded love triangles and cliches *major shudder*) and the list goes on. Then don’t write a review because you then know its gonna be a negative (or mostly negative) review.

No? Go right ahead and review it people!

If you can only think of one thing wrong (or nothing) then WRITE.THAT.REVIEW. Simple as that.

Now for the last question:

 

3.) Did I love/like this book enough to write a review or not?

Sometimes you like a book but didn’t like or love it enough to write a review, and thats okay. So ask yourself this question too.

 

When it comes down to it, if you wanna write a negative review. I’m not gonna stop you. I’m not the book review police 😛 but these are just my reasons I don’t write negative book reviews

…and maybe you shouldn’t either??… *squeak*

Anyways. I want to know what you think! Do you think writing negative reviews is a good thing? Bad thing? What do you think on writing reviews on a whole?

Comment below and let me know! I answer all comments 🙂

 

Until Next Time!

Adriana Gabrielle

 

(P.S I have a secret for y’all. If you check out the ‘My Novels’ page you will find all the info about my novels (which you already knew) but I just updated it again and underneath the status of each book is the Pinterest Boards for each book. 😉 )
Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

