Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

Hello again, my lovely readers!

So. As you can tell from the title of the post and banner floating around at the top of the post… Next month I am participation in Camp NaNoWriMo!

This is my first year doing CAMP NaNo but last November I did the actual thing.

For those of you who don’t know what NaNoWriMo is. It’s where authors of all ages and experience levels come together and write a whole novel (50k words) in an entire month! It’s pretty crazy, but an AWESOME experience. During the summer though they have something called Camp NaNoWriMo which is the same thing but you can choose your maximum word count. So, if you only want to write 10k words in the month, rather than 50k. you can.

This year though the rules of CAMP NaNo have been switched around and played with a bit.(it’s nothing to major. Just some updates they’ve made but this also gives you an idea how the system works a bit) I was going to explain, but why explain when they have the newsletter? SO here. I’m gonna cheat and copy and past from the website….

Welcome to the fourth year of Camp NaNoWriMo!

We first imagined Camp simply as an off-season alternative to National Novel Writing Month, but it’s evolved into much more than that: writers choose their own projects—from novel sequels to scripts to pop-up books—and find cabin communities (and often new friends) to support them.

We call it a retreat because you can write anything here, plus see what you’re capable of when you have the time and space to create.

Last year, we introduced flexible word-count goals (10,000 to 999,999) and the ability to add your own project genre. Our 2014 features are designed to make Camp even more open-ended:

Remodeled, ultra-hyphy cabins. Share your triumphs with more fellow writers: cabins now accommodate 12 campers. Worried that’ll be too much conversation to keep track of? We’ve also added @replies to the cabin message board. Set your preferences beforeMarch 25 to claim your bunk.

Full project-defining power. Now, you can select your genre and category. Working on a collection of swashbuckling tales? “Adventure Short Stories” will be shown on your profile. Writing presidential haikus? You can proudly display your choice of “Historical Poetry.” 

One-click access to the big world of Camp. Hanging with cabin mates is great, but there are about 20,000 other campers to meet, too. Find quick links to our blogFacebook, and Twitter in your cabin and on the homepage.

 

So, this, my readers is what I will be participating. Seriously. Do you want the bragging rights to be able to say: “Yeah, I did that. I wrote 50,ooo words in a month” ? I know I do. (Plus it’s fun to see peoples reactions when you say you wrote FIFTY-THOUSAND words in THIRTY days!)

This year I am working on a new novel (in which I cannot announce yet.) all I can tell you is what I put down on the Camp NaNoWriMo website. The novel is called: ‘Trechelium’ and it is a YA Medieval Fantasy Novel.

If you are interested in Camp NaNoWriMo you can sign up on their website (its free!) at: http://www.campnanowrimo.org

Well, time to close off this post for now but I want to say again that Camp NaNo is the best experience in the world, believe me on this one. 🙂

Oh! one more thing! Some of you might have seen the post where you could ask my NaNoWriMo novel character by the name of ‘Dance’ some questions and I will interview her but I need a few more questions so I can do an interview post. So if you could check it out and maybe as a question or two (…or ten 😄 ) I would really appreciate it then I will get the interview done ASAP. You can find the post here.

Until next time!

Adriana Gabrielle

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

