Author Interview- Heather Manning

Hey everyone! Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Heather Manning, the author of ‘Swept to Sea’ So… yeah. On with the interview!

Hi Heather, could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Hi! I am a young lady who loves to read and write. I live in Kansas City, Missouri, where I attend high school, act in community theatre, and eat donuts.

Could you tell us a bit about your novel?

Swept to Sea is about a young lady—Eden—who stows away on a pirate ship to escape her abusive fiancé. She doesn’t expect to grow attached to the captain of the ship—Caspian—and his young son, Reed, but her ways of thinking soon change.

Okay, I’m dying to know, who designed the cover for your novel? 20140217-001159.jpg

A very lovely lady over at AM Design Studios designed it! I absolutely adore my cover…I got to tell her what I wanted, and boom! She came up with exactly what was in my head.

That is amazing! The cover is absolutely stunning! So what inspired you to write ‘Swept to Sea’? 

I had  really wanted to write a trilogy centered on three best friends and their adventures in the Caribbean. I wanted them to be English ladies and needed a way for them to get to the Caribbean, and I came up with Eden’s story.

That’s cool. Did you write an outline before writing the novel?

No, I did not. I knew where I wanted to go but had no outline. Now, however, I use a more hybrid approach and partially outline before I write.

What was the hardest part of writing your novel? 

A lot of steps were challenges, but I think the hardest part was research. There were some details that were very hard for me to find the correct information for.

What is one way you relate to your main character?

Good question! I relate to Eden in quite a few ways, I think. I guess my favorite trait that we share is that we both adore kids.

I adore kids! They are so much fun! Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Two main themes that run through my novel are revenge and trust. Caspian, my hero, struggles with wanting revenge for his wife’s death. Eden struggles with trust issues: she doesn’t trust men, and she tends to forget to trust in God. Both of their stories kind of serve as examples for my readers.

Did you learn anything from writing ‘Swept to Sea’ and what was it? 

I learned a historical tidbit! I found out that window taxes were charged in England around the same time as my book happens…basically people had to pay more taxes for the windows in their homes, so many would close their windows with bricks. When I took a recent trip to England, I was thrilled to see windows like this. It made my research come alive.

This window tax is never mentioned in Swept to Sea, but I learned it while writing it.

Hmm. Very interesting! If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would consider MaryLu Tyndall to be a mentor. I adore her writing and like to think that my stories could be compared to hers.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A nice little Facebook group called Go Teen Writers helped me immensely. I love that place so much.

Nice! That is an awesome group. So, one last thing, Do you have any advice for other writers?

My advice is to read, read, read, and write, write, write. Both of those will help you improve your work. If you are very serious about getting published, attend a writer’s conference. The information learned and connections made there are priceless.

That is awesome advice! Okay, so I lied. This is the last thing. Where can we as readers stalk you on social media? (Pinterest, Goodread, Facebook etc.etc.)

Find Me…

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Heather-Manning-Author/140994172751360
Blog: http://heathermauthor.blogspot.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/HeatherM_Author
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2807352.Heather_Manning
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/HeatherMAuthor/
Tumblr: http://www.tumblr.com/blog/heatherm-author

Find Swept to Sea…

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Swept-Sea-Heather-Manning-ebook/dp/B00GX35G9S/

1964659_504267386352413_1476575744_n

Heather Manning is a young lady who loves to read–and write. She has won multiple competitions for her writing with “Nextgen Writers” and placed first in some writing contests with the “Go Teen Writers” blog and is a proud member of ACFW. She lives in Missouri where she attends high school, acts in community theatre, eats donuts and reads every Inspirational Historical Romance she can get her hands on.

So, that’s it for today guys! Thanks for checking out this interview! (and thank you Heather for agreeing to do this) You guys really need to check out Heather’s book ‘Swept to Sea’ (link to amazon page above) it is amazing!

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

