Writing Your Story- It’s all one big game of Whack-A-Mole

In a way, writing your novel/story is a huge game of Whack-A-Mole when it comes to characters.

whack_a_mole1

As hard as you try, you will never get your characters to do what you want.

I think everyone has the same problem.

For example: You have all your characters set up and ready to go and you know exactly when and where they will come in when SURPRISE! your characters love interest/future shows up way too soon into the story and confuses a lot of stuff you’ve carefully planned out.

*WHACK* <— That’s my Whack-A-Mole sound effect šŸ˜„ šŸ˜‰

Too soon you silly character! Does that character stay down once you whack him/her?

Oh heck no.

It’s a constant battle of:

No! Too soon! GO away! *WHACK*

NO! You aren’t supposed to be annoying go back where I put you and act like you are supposed to! *WHACK*

Okay, you get the picture right? šŸ˜„

At this point for me, it happens all the time. It has happened so many times for me in this one novel. With my re-writes I’m kinda just letting my characters do what ‘they’ want. To an extent anyways. Honestly though, these characters probably know this story better than we as author’s do…I mean like honestly. Think about it, Characters turn evil/good, major plot twists, backstory you never knew about until the character says something about it and the list goes on.

Crazy how our imagination works huh? Basically the story is already written and we’re writing it as the characters experience it….. I’m now wondering if I’m starting to sound crazy now because of how I am referring to characters as real people…Well, they’re real in my imagination so…. anyways. Moving on…

So, sometimes it helps to stop playing a constant game of whack-a-mole 24/7 and only really push our characters back into place when it’s needed, right?

So, what do y’all do? Do you guys play ‘Whack-A-Mole/Character’ ??? Or do you not have that problem?

Comment below and tell me your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

