Clockwork Heart- Book Review

Hello fellow bloggers!

So I was going to wait until after the New Year to write this book review but considering I finished it Christmas Eve I figured I should probably just do it now while all this is still fresh in my mind (and please be patient with me I have NEVER written a book review before so if it’s terrible please do NOT hold it against me, okay?)

Image

      Flight Is Freedom. But Death Hangs In The Skies.

 Taya soars over Ondinium on metal wings. She is an Icarus, a courier privileged to travel freely across the city’s sectors and mingle indiscriminately amongst its castes. But even she cannot outfly the web of terrorism, loyalty, murder, and intrigue that snares her after a daring mid-air rescue. Taya finds herself entangled with the Forlore brothers, scions of an upperclass family: handsome, brilliant Alsiter, who sits on Ondinium’s governing council and writes programs for the Great Engine; and awkward, sharp tongued Cristof, who has exiled himself from his caste and repairs clocks in the lowest sector of the city. Both hide dangerous secrets, in the city that beats to the ticking of a clockwork heart…

Plot:

This was an amazing book! As I read it I was thinking the whole time: This would make an awesome movie. The plot was really good. I loved the pacing of the story, the setting, the characters, everything about it. (well almost. There is a few things I did not like….but I’ll get to that later) Also there were a lot of really well written plot twists and everything. A few of which made me want to throw my book across the room or sob hysterically as I stuffed myself with chocolate….or both. *ahem* anyways. It was just amazing, okay?

Moving on….I absolutely adored the ending of the book. I figured that there would be a big huge cliffhanger. By cliff-hanger I mean:

‘OH MY GOSH! So and so just died/is gonna die etc etc’ (since I was told by the publisher that there would be a sequel

(Yes, people I met the publisher from the publishing company that published this wonderful book. 😀 )

But luckily for me it did not end like that (I won’t say anything that will spoil the ending) Though the ending was a cliffhanger it was not one of those cliffhangers like the one described above. 😛

Overall the plot was really amazing! (okay I need to pick a new word other than ‘amazing’ I think…)

Genre:

This book was a Steampunk Fantasy/ Horror/ Romance.

I have never read a Steampunk novel before *insert huge gasp here*

I have always wanted to read a Steampunk novel but never actually picked one up (or, I will admit, some just didn’t seem all that interesting). I absolutely adore Steampunk and in this story there was definitely the Steampunk Fantasy aspect of it. I was a little worried at first because a lot of Romance Novels these days are crap and filled with sexual stuff I personally do not find interesting to read.I mostly just find half the romance stuff published today kinda nasty, uncalled for and gross…(Note that this is my personal opinion on MOST Romance novels.)

The one genre that didn’t make sense to me was the:

Horror

Maybe it was the whole murder mystery thing?

But if thats true all those murder mystery Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys books I’ve read have all counted as Horror and I’ve been reading Horror novels since I was 9… O_0 … which is a….scary/slightly weird thought.

Anyways.

I personally did not see the Horror aspect at all…. *shrug* Though I have been told by some friends that a lot of things classify under Horror when they actually aren’t Horror novels at all…. Hmm…. Anyways moving on, otherwise I would be rambling forever trying to figure out why this novel classifies under the genre of: Horror.

Characters:

Ohhhh! This is my favourite part! I LOVE LOVE LOOOOOVED the characters. I instantly connected with the characters they were just….. hmm can’t use ‘amazing’…The characters were just incredible. Loved them so much! (I really cannot express how much I loved the characters. Real 3D characters, with lives, backstory and personality’s of their own. Dru Pagliassotti did an amazing job bringing these characters to life.

Before I move on I’m just gonna say that: Cristof Forlore is my favourite. I love him ^_^

Setting:

The setting *sigh* The setting was amazing. The was the description of this Steampunk/Fantasy world was described made me see everything and picture that I was there. In that world. With the characters. I cannot even describe it but trust me, once you read this book you will feel like you were instantly transported to this amazing world. (for me this is hard to do in some books…not sure why…but this book took me to that world.)

Overall: 

Overall the book was absolutely FANTASTIC! I loved the book so much and I read it in like, a day I think. Absolutely FANTASTIC

Did you see that? I didn’t use the word ‘amazing’

Also a side note. I REALLY want this to be made into a movie…Just putting that out there. (I do NOT say that about most books.)

What I didn’t like:

(I’m also rating what I didn’t like on a 1 – 10 basis, 1 being the most mild and 10 the most extreme:)
WARNING – If you don’t want any *in River Song’s voice* Spoilers, don’t read any further.

Violence:  2. There was very little description of the said violence. (most of which was shooting) The violence was still there but it was not gory, bloody or nasty and was not really dwelled on.

Sexual Content: 2. The only thing that bothered me in this book was when Taya liked this one character and later on when she found out what a jerk this character is she got all mad (more at herself for liking this character) and yelled something along these lines: “I would have slept with you if you had asked me” in which the other character replied that he was “honoured she would have agreed” (something along those lines. I don’t remember exactly what that character said). Okay one more minor thing was that Taya’s friends kept saying that she needed to find some guy and date him and… *ahem*…other things….Though Taya did refuse and say she would only date a guy if she really liked him, nothing more and nothing less. (though her friends were being rather pushy about it :/)

Language/Swearing: 2. So there was a bit of swearing. There was a point in which Taya called another character a not very nice word because she thought that other character was behind the murder of a friend of hers. Then there was a few more times another character swore out of anger.

Other:  So this is just a side note that I didn’t know what to put it under but there is something called the Clockwork Heart in which a certain character created this machine to pair up couples so their relationships will never fail and to save people heartbreak etc etc. Two of the people working on this put their cards in to see who is paired them up with and it paired up those two said characters….Who are both guys. It is never said that these two are a couple but the other character tease those two and when one of those guys is in trouble the other guy runs to save him and it is obvious the other characters think they love each other….I was not a fan of that…. :/

*                    *                 *

Now, this is me running off to chapters to pre-order the second book in the trilogy then probably fangirl over this book and do some fan art…*shrugs* Who knows.

So until next time!

*runs to chapters*

Leave a Reply? I love to talk! I'm a friendly gal, I promise!

